Tapas

Check out the Sun Valley Magazine summer 2008 issue for some great recipes created by Lillie Lancaster. Charlotte Hemmings, Lillie and I had so much fun shooting this assignment in my studio.  The creative inspiration came when I was returning home from a photoshoot.  I was driving across the barren area between Jackson Hole, WY and Sun Valley, Idaho.  I love road trips and I think one of the main reasons is the chance it gives you to just think.  I knew I had this photoshoot coming up when I returned home and I was trying to think of a creative yet whimsical way to shoot while of course keeping in mind that this was a food story and the food needed to remain the hero in the shot.  As I was passing through Craters of the Moon National Monument the “Little Plates, Big Flavor” idea came to me. I quickly called up my mom and had her package up all of the appropriate props from my childhood dollhouse.   They arrived the next afternoon and as soon as I started playing around I knew the idea would work – something unique, creative, and just a bit thought provoking.

©Paulette Phlipot

©Paulette Phlipot

©Paulette Phlipot

Leave a comment