Morel Mushrooms!

©Paulette Phlipot

©Paulette Phlipot

My dad taught us the patience it took to hunt for morels when we were young children.  The thrill of hunting for morels is just as exciting for me now as it was for me then.  I photographed these shortly after we found them today.  And yes, we have already sauteed a few up and they were delicious as always!  They sure don’t get much fresher than this. Sorry exact location can not be given, but I can let you know it was in the Ketchum, Idaho area and Rudy searched long and far for these.  I did manage to find my first “false morel”, which was actually exciting to see first hand how they differentiate from an actual morel.  I recommend for anyone venturing out to hunt to be sure to seek advice if they are not sure of the difference between the two. Here’s a website I found with some good info.

Leave a Reply

